more from
Def Pressé
We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £7 GBP  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Limited yellow vinyl copy of Away Back In.

    This color will not be repressed.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Away Back In via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      £22 GBP or more 


  • Very limited Test Pressing
    Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    We only have 5 of these to share between mine and Damu's Bandcamp.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Away Back In via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out

Ease Side 04:27
Numb 03:51
Bird's Eye 04:48
Dank Ish 03:00
Rehab 03:17
Pull Over 01:28


Raw Poetic, the duo of MC/lyricist Jason Moore and guitarist P-Fritz (aka Patrick Fritz), announce their new album, Away Back In, out August 18th on Def Pressé, and present its lead single, “Ease Side.” Following the “radically optimistic endeavors” (The FADER) and “spiritually attuned hip-hop” (Bandcamp) of Laminated Skies and the triple-album “magnum opus” (Jazziz) of Space Beyond The Solar System—both released in 2022—Away Back In is a transcendent musical fusion of hip-hop, jazz, and garage rock, underpinned by the adroit drum programming and production of frequent collaborator Damu the Fudgemunk. A fundamental creation by a group that enjoys a place outside of the spotlight but always in the consciousness of their listeners, Away Back In plays out as a conversation between old friends. Lead single “Ease Side” reignites and re-energizes the jazz elements of the duo’s recent work: P-Fritz’s smooth guitar riffs and bass lines lay the foundation for Raw Poetic to dissect the emotions of a worry-free relationship.

Of “Ease Side,” Moore says, “‘Ease Side’ for us is like a universal calling for everyone to pump the breaks a little. Life is tough, but sometimes it’s good to take a step back and appreciate the good parts of it.”

Hailing from the Northern Virginia / DC-metro area, Moore and Fritz have been collaborating on experimental hip-hop for the better part of two decades, first in the progressive hip-hop band Restoring Poetry in Music (RPM) and later in the acclaimed Rawkus-signed group, Panacea. Over the next several years, the two artists maintained a consistent friendship but it wasn’t until their collaborative album with Archie Shepp, 2021’s widely-praised Ocean Bridges, that they rediscovered their extraordinary chemistry and ability to fill a musical niche. By 2022, they had once again tapped into an invigorating creative workflow, yielding the aforementioned double release of Laminated Skies and Space Beyond the Solar System.

With no signs of slowing down, Away Back In emerges. Moore’s ability to melodically narrate everyday life in the kaleidoscope of the modern world is uniquely matched by Fritz's consistent ability to supply the musical landscapes for this storytelling. Lyrics are seamlessly sung and spoken, taking listeners on a dark and mellifluous journey. In "Bird's Eye," an exploration of the chaos throughout the end of time, the guitars overdrive, creating a haunting echo, a contrasting mood to the album’s opening track. “Sometime After Midnight” questions the definition of racism in America.

Despite the density of the album’s themes, hope springs eternal in songs like the playful “The Dank-ish,” along with the album’s titular track, “A Way Back In,” a celebration of the long, journeyed history and friendship of Moore and Fritz. “Human Kindness” closes Away Back In with an unlikely marriage of folk-style guitar and hip-hop, providing the listener with a stunning optimistic look on human nature.

Progressive and filled with soul, Away Back In is unlike any other.

Released with Def Pressé. Follow with:

Label link:

Ease Side:
Dank Ish:
Away Back In:


released August 25, 2023

All Songs Composed, Produced, Arranged & Recorded By Raw Poetic and P. Fritz

1 Ease Side 2 Numb 3 Bird's Eye 4 Sometime After Midnight 5 Dank Ish 6 Rehab 7 The Speed Of Power 8 Pull Over 9 When the Mind Goes 10 A Way Back In 11 Human Kindness (Acoustic Mix)

Lyrics, Lead Vocals & Rapping: Jason "Raw Poetic"Moore (@rawpoetic) All Guitars and Bass Guitars, Background Vocals: Patrick "P. Fritz" Fritz (@patrickfritzmusic) Recording, Post Production & Mixing: Jason Moore Additional Post Production, All Drum Programming, Percussion & Misc Instruments, Recording: Earl "Damu the Fudgemunk" Davis Final Mixing and Mastering: Earl Davis Scratches: DJ Damu the Fudgemunk.
Artist Photos: Nick Moreland, Jamie Sandel, John Moore.


all rights reserved



Raw Poetic Washington, D.C.

contact / help

Contact Raw Poetic

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Away Back In, you may also like: